I Declare. What Bmobile can teach us about Online Marketing

Image

Over the past few years, we have seen the digital sphere become more and more personal, emphasis moved from broadcasting to narrowcasting . While you watch TV, billboards and posters alongside your friends and family, you engage in digital media particularly mobile, mostly alone. So when the mobile giant Bmobile needed to engage their target in the  digital and mobile arenas, they had to saddle up their horses to give each consumer an individual ride.

I Declare

Each time a consumer uses a product, engages a brand or enters a store front (digital or traditional), she is making a declaration about herself. With Apple products, a consumer’s use indicates the declaration “I am Creative” or “I am tech-trendy”. In the early 2000’s, someone owning a Blackberry phone was declaring “I am tech savvy and serious about business”. Well, we all know my Facebook friend Tash McFash; I remember the first time she “Liked” a post on my wall, it showed me and all my friends that I am cool, friendly, fashionable and maybe even popular. Tash’s engagement with me and vice versa allowed me to make a self declaration based on the “Show me your friends” principle. Being “friends” with Tash said something about who I was.

BBM Campaign

SINGLE

In early 2012, at the peak of Blackberry’s penetration in Trinidad and Tobago, when status updates and animated GIFs ruled the mobile marketing world, Bmobile, understanding that a status update was yet another self declaration, decided to roll out a BBM campaign. In the height of carnival preparations, when status updates looked like “2night I go be rollin with meh bucket” and “I go be single forever”, Bmobile found a way to be part of those updates. In fact it was the only way to get the consumer to endorse their brand; Bmobile created the declaration for them. This meant that the BBM user simply used the Bmobile animation to say something about himself, and the fact that the bmobile logo showed up for just a second wasn’t really a problem. Bmobile was facilitating their declaration.

BUCKET2

We Got This

When the time came for Bmobile to launch its 4g teaser campaign “We Got This”, they turned to the same principle of declaration to engage their digital target. Even though the traditional media messaging was strictly “We got this”, the messaging for digital needed to be much more personal. They understood that for a user to engage, click on, or share anything online, it had to be in alignment with what they would declare about themselves. The online user would’ve been less inclined to spread the word that Bmobile “got this”, whatever “this” was, but could be interested in declaring that she too, was part of the esoteric group of people that “Got this”. And so, Bmobile let her in by launching their Digital arm “I Got This”  .

I-WE-B

By starting the animation with “I”, Bmobile made the promo more about the user  than about the brand, it tapped in to their need to be part of a movement and declare it.

Today’s digital consumer knows that everything she says, looks at or shares builds up a list of attributes that declares who she is; so before she reposts your brand’s promo, she stops to think “what does this say about who I am?”

What, then, does the use of your brand, product or service say about your target consumer?

http://shownd.com/natashagill/18591/Tash-McFash

2 thoughts on “I Declare. What Bmobile can teach us about Online Marketing

  1. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing
    a blog post or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same
    subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you might be interested feel free to send
    me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Terrific blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

